NTNUJAVA Virtual Physics Laboratory
Enjoy the fun of physics with simulations!
Backup site http://enjoy.phy.ntnu.edu.tw/ntnujava/
November 25, 2017, 12:04:56 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
"Make priority, take action and start now." ...Wisdom
Google Bookmarks Yahoo My Web MSN Live Netscape Del.icio.us FURL Stumble Upon Delirious Ask FaceBook

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: How to make gravitational simulation ?  (Read 54814 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. Click to toggle author information(expand message area).
GwenArBreizhou
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 50



«
Embed this message
on: December 24, 2011, 10:48:34 pm » posted from:Messac,Bretagne,France

Hi,
I would like to try the simulator to make a simulation where gravitational forces appears while you can change weight and radius of planets and distance from them.
I found E field and B field simultor but nothing for a G field ...

How can I do ?

Thans in advance for reply,
best regards,
Logged
Fu-Kwun Hwang
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3080



WWW
«
Embed this message
Reply #1 on: December 25, 2011, 05:20:19 pm » posted from:,,Satellite Provider

The following simulation show gravitation field as function of r.
You can change the radius of the planet with the slider.
You can also drag mouse to any position and the simulation will show gravitation field at the new mouse position.
I hope this is what you need!

Embed a running copy of this simulation

Embed a running copy link(show simulation in a popuped window)
Full screen applet or Problem viewing java?Add http://www.phy.ntnu.edu.tw/ to exception site list
Press the Alt key and the left mouse button to drag the applet off the browser and onto the desktop. This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 2.5 Taiwan License
  • Please feel free to post your ideas about how to use the simulation for better teaching and learning.
  • Post questions to be asked to help students to think, to explore.
  • Upload worksheets as attached files to share with more users.
Let's work together. We can help more users understand physics conceptually and enjoy the fun of learning physics!
Logged
GwenArBreizhou
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 50



«
Embed this message
Reply #2 on: December 25, 2011, 08:27:18 pm » posted from:Messac,Bretagne,France

Thanks for reply.
This is part of what I would like to do.
I don't need gravitation field but just the force applied on an object which weight and position can be changed.
Also, I would like to be able to change weight of the planet and not only the radius.

Regards,
Logged
Fu-Kwun Hwang
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3080



WWW
«
Embed this message
Reply #3 on: December 25, 2011, 11:08:43 pm » posted from:LONDON,ENGLAND,UNITED KINGDOM

The weight of the object depends on gravitation field g and mass of the object m. i.e. weight =m*g

And Usually the mass/size of the object is much smaller than the planet.

Quote
Also, I would like to be able to change weight of the planet and not only the radius.
Do you mean the mass of the planet instead of weight of the planet?

The mass of the planet is proportional to volume of the planet. M=\rho\frac{4\pi r^3}{3}
Logged
GwenArBreizhou
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 50



«
Embed this message
Reply #4 on: December 25, 2011, 11:23:03 pm » posted from:Messac,Bretagne,France

Do you mean the mass of the planet instead of weight of the planet?

Yes of course.
Sorry but each time I used "weight", I meant "mass".


The mass of the planet is proportional to volume of the planet. M=\rho \frac{4\pi r^3}{3}

In a way yes. But it depends on density.
Logged
Fu-Kwun Hwang
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3080



WWW
«
Embed this message
Reply #5 on: December 26, 2011, 02:23:45 pm » posted from:LONDON,ENGLAND,UNITED KINGDOM

I modified the code: you can change the density,too!
And it will display gravitation field.
If you need the force, just multiple the gravitation field by mass of the object.

Logged
GwenArBreizhou
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 50



«
Embed this message
Reply #6 on: December 26, 2011, 04:23:40 pm » posted from:Messac,Bretagne,France

Thanks for these modifications.

It seems to be a problem while if r > 0.6, g don't change anymore.

As the gravitation field is concerned, would it be possible to have it as an option because I work with 15 years old students and it will be difficult for them to understand the meaning of such a field ?

Can we have instead a cursor where m of the object can be changed and the value of force would appears in the simulation ?

thanks in advance,
best regards,
Logged
Fu-Kwun Hwang
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3080



WWW
«
Embed this message
Reply #7 on: December 26, 2011, 07:18:27 pm » posted from:LONDON,ENGLAND,UNITED KINGDOM

The initial value for diameter is D=0.6 (mean r=D/2=0.3).
g=0.42 is gravitation field strength at r=0.3

The gravitation field will not change if you increase the radius of the planet.
(The uniform mass outside radius r will not contribute to gravitation field).

I added an object (blue dot) and user can adjust it's mass with slider.
The gravitation force is shown as black arrow.
User can drag the object with mouse,too!
I hope this version is closer to what you need!
Enjoy it!
Logged
GwenArBreizhou
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 50



«
Embed this message
Reply #8 on: December 27, 2011, 03:45:10 am » posted from:Messac,Bretagne,France

I hope this version is closer to what you need!

Yes in fact, it is.
To achieve, I would like to know if the gravitational potential could be an option like "g" and if it's possible to put a legend (planet, object, gravitational force, gravitational field) and to let me do a french version of this simulation.

Thanks in advance (I hope it's the last time ;o))
Logged
Fu-Kwun Hwang
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3080



WWW
«
Embed this message
Reply #9 on: December 27, 2011, 10:00:11 pm » posted from:LONDON,ENGLAND,UNITED KINGDOM

The simulation has been modified according to your suggestion!
Logged
GwenArBreizhou
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 50



«
Embed this message
Reply #10 on: January 31, 2012, 04:46:00 am » posted from:Messac,Bretagne,France

Hi,
I begin to use your simulation with students (15 years old) without translating it because I don't remember how to do it.
Can you refresh my memory ?

The student are a little surprised with the potential curve. Would it be possible to put it as an option ?

Thanks in advance,
Best regards,
Logged
Fu-Kwun Hwang
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3080



WWW
«
Embed this message
Reply #11 on: January 31, 2012, 08:37:12 am » posted from:LONDON,ENGLAND,UNITED KINGDOM

The simulation has been modified (add an option for show V:potential curve).

For the translation: Please check out How to translate a simulation created with EJS

You are also welcomed to check out Getting started with EJS
Logged
GwenArBreizhou
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 50



«
Embed this message
Reply #12 on: January 31, 2012, 08:29:05 pm » posted from:Messac,Bretagne,France

Hi,
I got a problem. When I right-click on the simulation and ask for opening EJS model, I'm told that "Easy Java Simulations are not found" as you can see in the attached file.

I tried as well after putting your users_ntnu_fkh_gravitationfnr.ejs in the directory but I got the same message.

What can I do ?

Thanks for reply,


* Fu8.jpg (79.29 KB, 873x553 - viewed 709 times.)
Logged
ahmedelshfie
Ahmed
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 954



«
Embed this message
Reply #13 on: January 31, 2012, 10:25:10 pm » posted from:Uberaba,Minas Gerais,Brazil

I believe the applet gonna work if you mark use original path, try do it again, he gonna work with you.
Logged
Fu-Kwun Hwang
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3080



WWW
«
Embed this message
Reply #14 on: January 31, 2012, 10:28:25 pm » posted from:LONDON,ENGLAND,UNITED KINGDOM

1. You need to install EJS (just unzip the file)
2. run EJSConsole.jar and you need to select working directory when you run it for the first time.
You can select workspace under EJS installed directory.
However, I would suggest you create another directory under root (e.g. c:\workspace).
This would be easier when you install new version later. (because you do not need to change working directory again)
Logged
GwenArBreizhou
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 50



«
Embed this message
Reply #15 on: February 01, 2012, 01:20:30 am » posted from:Messac,Bretagne,France

Hi,
I finally managed to translate the simulation. I therefore attach the version that can get it in French.
Thank you for all that time spent helping me,
Regards,


*** There are 1 more attached files. You need to login to acces it!
Logged
Fu-Kwun Hwang
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3080



WWW
«
Embed this message
Reply #16 on: February 01, 2012, 03:52:53 pm » posted from:LONDON,ENGLAND,UNITED KINGDOM

I just added another option (a link just below the applet).User can translate strings in simulation to different language format with web interface before download.

However, user need to make sure the character coding for the browser should be set to utf-8 (i.e. unicode).
User will be able to download updated jar file after the translation has been done.
You can try it with the above simulation.
Logged
GwenArBreizhou
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 50



«
Embed this message
Reply #17 on: February 13, 2012, 05:51:05 am » posted from:Messac,Bretagne,France

I've just tried but I obtained an error 404

Not Found
The requested URL /ntnujava/users/2/ejs_gravitationfnr.jar was not found on this server.
Logged
Fu-Kwun Hwang
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3080



WWW
«
Embed this message
Reply #18 on: February 16, 2012, 03:12:46 pm » posted from:Taipei,T'ai-pei,Taiwan

I just download it without any problem, please try it again!
Logged
jhon marvi
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1

«
Embed this message
Reply #19 on: December 21, 2012, 12:15:38 pm » posted from:Islamabad,Islamabad,Pakistan

Artificial gravity is the varying (increase or decrease) of apparent gravity (g-force) via artificial means, particularly in space, but also on the Earth. It can be practically achieved by the use of some different forces, particularly the centrifugal force and linear acceleration (fictitious forces).

The creation of artificial gravity is considered desirable for long-term space travel or habitation, for ease of mobility, for in-space fluid management, and to avoid the adverse long-term health effects of weightlessness.
Logged
sunnny
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1

«
Embed this message
Reply #20 on: March 28, 2015, 02:40:35 pm » posted from:,,Satellite Provider

Also, each green is given a Stimp Meter reading to indicate the speed of the green.  Stimp Meter is a 36 inch stick with V-shaped grooves.  It will be raised to 20.5 degrees and a golf ball (1.62oz) is placed at the 30 inch mark and released down the grove.  A Stimp Meter of 8 means the ball travels 8 ft (96 in) after it leaves the Stimp Meter.
Logged
lookang
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1784


http://weelookang.blogspot.com


WWW
«
Embed this message
Reply #21 on: May 06, 2015, 12:49:02 pm » posted from:Singapore,,Singapore

dear prof,

the potential requires a negative sign  Cheesy

http://iwant2study.org/lookangejss/02_newtonianmechanics_7gravity/ejss_model_gravity07_1/gravity07_1_Simulation.xhtml





* 2015-05-06_1345.png (60.79 KB, 1280x988 - viewed 427 times.)
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
"Make priority, take action and start now." ...Wisdom
 
Jump to:  


Related Topics
Subject Started by Replies Views Last post
how to make the text b always appear after the simulation is reset?
Dynamics
lookang 16 15472 Last post July 26, 2007, 11:40:25 pm
by Fu-Kwun Hwang
how to make a slider time t that allows user to slide to replay simulation
Questions related to EJS
lookang 2 7914 Last post September 22, 2008, 02:36:43 pm
by lookang
is it possible to make applet make a sound when i condition is met?
Questions related to EJS
lookang 8 10321 Last post December 22, 2008, 12:10:01 pm
by lookang
how to make a slider remember previous value after reset simulation.
Questions related to EJS
lookang 2 6058 Last post January 20, 2009, 01:37:25 pm
by lookang
EJSS Gravitational Force Model
Collaborative Community of EJS
lookang 0 939 Last post February 14, 2015, 12:32:25 pm
by lookang
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.13 | SMF © 2006-2011, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.337 seconds with 23 queries.since 2011/06/15