NTNUJAVA Virtual Physics Laboratory
Enjoy the fun of physics with simulations!
Backup site http://enjoy.phy.ntnu.edu.tw/ntnujava/
October 21, 2017, 07:11:50 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
A man paints with his brains and not with his hands. ..."Michelangelo (1475-1564, Italian sculptor, painter, architect and poet)"
Google Bookmarks Yahoo My Web MSN Live Netscape Del.icio.us FURL Stumble Upon Delirious Ask FaceBook

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: how to make Ejs Data collect over a series of runs of experiments  (Read 5529 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. Click to toggle author information(expand message area).
lookang
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1784


http://weelookang.blogspot.com


WWW
«
Embed this message
on: September 21, 2010, 09:46:20 am » posted from:SINGAPORE,SINGAPORE,SINGAPORE

how to make Ejs Data collect over a series of runs of experiments?

i adapted the DataCollect() from http://www.phy.ntnu.edu.tw/ntnujava/index.php?topic=1945msg7137;topicseen#msg7137 into my collision cart applet.

but the data in the table is erase every time i reset the applet,

My attempt to solve this
so i customize the initialize page to allow DataCollect(), remembering that reset truly reset completely.

but i can't get it to work, any suggestion or codes that do this for me to learn from?

basic aim is to get Ejs to collect the data and student analyse the data, instead of getting them to copy the cells in the table.


* dataautocollect.PNG (31.29 KB, 1107x514 - viewed 402 times.)

*** There are 1 more attached files. You need to login to acces it!
« Last Edit: September 21, 2010, 09:56:44 am by lookang » Logged
Fu-Kwun Hwang
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3080



WWW
«
Embed this message
Reply #1 on: September 21, 2010, 11:18:10 am » posted from:,,Taiwan

_reset() will reset the whole program, clear memory and start over again.
That is why the data in the table is clear.

You can use _initialize(); instead of _reset();
And you should add one more column for charge q.
Logged
lookang
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1784


http://weelookang.blogspot.com


WWW
«
Embed this message
Reply #2 on: September 21, 2010, 12:30:44 pm » posted from:SINGAPORE,SINGAPORE,SINGAPORE

_reset() will reset the whole program, clear memory and start over again.
That is why the data in the table is clear.
agreed.

You can use _initialize(); instead of _reset();
i am using it, check my applet the button "init".
but there is still a problem, _initialize() also clear Data in the table, i am not sure why.
or should i use a stored array method to keep the data in another text file? any elegant solution to this problem?

And you should add one more column for charge q.
done.

Oh, i tried to Update EJS jar file. but the file seems to be the old file still.
i attached as attachment ejs_PointCharge.jar

Embed a running copy of this simulation

Embed a running copy link(show simulation in a popuped window)
Full screen applet or Problem viewing java?Add http://www.phy.ntnu.edu.tw/ to exception site list
Press the Alt key and the left mouse button to drag the applet off the browser and onto the desktop. This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 2.5 Taiwan License
  • Please feel free to post your ideas about how to use the simulation for better teaching and learning.
  • Post questions to be asked to help students to think, to explore.
  • Upload worksheets as attached files to share with more users.
Let's work together. We can help more users understand physics conceptually and enjoy the fun of learning physics!


*** There are 1 more attached files. You need to login to acces it!
« Last Edit: September 21, 2010, 12:40:40 pm by lookang » Logged
Fu-Kwun Hwang
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3080



WWW
«
Embed this message
Reply #3 on: September 21, 2010, 04:17:39 pm » posted from:,,Taiwan

It seems that the only condition for data to be added to the table is when "Record data off" button is pressed.
Is it what you want?
I would suggest you change it back to normal button instead of two state button.

For your case, _initialize() is not required (it is the same as erase table).

Your uploaded jar file was updated on our server. However, your browser is using cached file.
That is the reason you did not find the change in the browser. You can remove attached jar file.

You need to clear the cache (this might not work for some browser) or close the browser and re-start it again (this will work all the time).
 
I modified the code so that it will record data when record is checked and (point  is dragged  or slider is changed).
Please check out attached xml


*** There are 1 more attached files. You need to login to acces it!
Logged
lookang
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1784


http://weelookang.blogspot.com


WWW
«
Embed this message
Reply #4 on: September 21, 2010, 04:54:12 pm » posted from:SINGAPORE,SINGAPORE,SINGAPORE

thanks! i was hoping for reply!
i understand the electric field applet better now


but i actually want to record for different runs of the experiment like 15 to 20 different play and initialize.
like in datalogger, different "runs" can be captured as different data sets?
maybe need to store in txt files? i am just guessing.



it will have to involve clicking the initialize button, any way to still collect data?

i upload this applet to illustrate my intent more clearly in the applet i have been remixing Grin

Embed a running copy of this simulation

Embed a running copy link(show simulation in a popuped window)
Full screen applet or Problem viewing java?Add http://www.phy.ntnu.edu.tw/ to exception site list
Press the Alt key and the left mouse button to drag the applet off the browser and onto the desktop. This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 2.5 Taiwan License
  • Please feel free to post your ideas about how to use the simulation for better teaching and learning.
  • Post questions to be asked to help students to think, to explore.
  • Upload worksheets as attached files to share with more users.
Let's work together. We can help more users understand physics conceptually and enjoy the fun of learning physics!
« Last Edit: September 21, 2010, 05:00:11 pm by lookang » Logged
Fu-Kwun Hwang
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3080



WWW
«
Embed this message
Reply #5 on: September 21, 2010, 05:50:57 pm » posted from:,,Taiwan

You need to ask Paco to add more feature for dataTable GUI element.

You can try to add table dynamically, and add data to different Table.
Or Just add fixed number of table and add data to different table.
Logged
lookang
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1784


http://weelookang.blogspot.com


WWW
«
Embed this message
Reply #6 on: September 22, 2010, 10:29:43 am » posted from:SINGAPORE,SINGAPORE,SINGAPORE

You need to ask Paco to add more feature for dataTable GUI element.
done.

You can try to add table dynamically, and add data to different Table.
Or Just add fixed number of table and add data to different table.
i am not sure what it means.
i being reading http://www.um.es/fem/EjsWiki/Main/ElementsDataTable and i don't think storing data after the previous runs is possible even if i use _initialize().


but i think i found a work around the problem.
students can open an excel spreadsheet,
select the data table one row only, and copy and paste into the excel sheet.
slowly, play each "run" and copy and paste each run's data table row into the same excel sheet, there by achieving the table for analysis and deduce the trends themselves.

e=0

m1 u1 v1 Dp1 m2 u2 v2 Dp2 pi pf KEi KEf A S
4.0   1.0   0.5   -2.0   4.0   0.0   0.5   2.0   4.0   4.0   2.0   1.0   1.0   0.0
4.0   2.0   1.0   -4.0   4.0   0.0   1.0   4.0   8.0   8.0   8.0   4.0   2.0   0.0
4.0   3.0   1.5   -6.0   4.0   0.0   1.5   6.0   12.0   12.0   18.0   9.0   3.0   0.0
4.0   4.0   2.0   -8.0   4.0   0.0   2.0   8.0   16.0   16.0   32.0   16.0   4.0   0.0
4.0   5.0   2.5   -10.0   4.0   0.0   2.5   10.0   20.0   20.0   50.0   25.0   5.0   0.0

and so on.

This feature was suggested by student in their feedback form who went through my "research" intervention in Feb 2010
http://sgeducation.blogspot.com/2010/02/virtual-laboratory-ejs-open-source-java.html
http://www.phy.ntnu.edu.tw/ntnujava/index.php?topic=831.msg6291#msg6291

Google Form which all can see, not edit
https://spreadsheets.google.com/ccc?key=0AjIvSg-TzZrZdGVoQzE5WlVWcU9FREJhaXBLYi1jZ1E&hl=en&pli=1

summary of results
https://spreadsheets.google.com/gform?key=0AjIvSg-TzZrZdGVoQzE5WlVWcU9FREJhaXBLYi1jZ1E&hl=en&pli=1&gridId=0#chart
« Last Edit: September 22, 2010, 10:56:50 am by lookang » Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
A man paints with his brains and not with his hands. ..."Michelangelo (1475-1564, Italian sculptor, painter, architect and poet)"
 
Jump to:  


Related Topics
Subject Started by Replies Views Last post
Virtual experiments on gases
Molecular Workbench
concord 0 11190 Last post January 10, 2006, 03:06:24 pm
by concord
AC circuit (Resistor in series with Resistor,capacitor or diode)
Electronic
Fu-Kwun Hwang 1 16076 Last post December 03, 2007, 06:51:30 am
by SLIMANE63
is it possible to make applet make a sound when i condition is met?
Questions related to EJS
lookang 8 10191 Last post December 22, 2008, 12:10:01 pm
by lookang
AC circuit (Resistor in series with Resistor,capacitor or diode)
electromagnetism
ahmedelshfie 0 5230 Last post May 25, 2010, 07:30:21 pm
by ahmedelshfie
no device can simulate laboratory experiments/board:26-101-
Request for physics Simulations
aferefs 0 1603 Last post May 31, 2013, 08:08:17 am
by aferefs
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.13 | SMF © 2006-2011, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.074 seconds with 23 queries.since 2011/06/15