NTNUJAVA Virtual Physics Laboratory
Enjoy the fun of physics with simulations!
Backup site http://enjoy.phy.ntnu.edu.tw/ntnujava/
December 18, 2017, 08:08:52 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length

Home   Help Search Login Register  
Youe can not help men permanently by doing for them what they could and should do for themselves. ..."Abraham Lincoln(1809-1865, US President 1861-1865"
Google Bookmarks Yahoo My Web MSN Live Netscape Del.icio.us FURL Stumble Upon Delirious Ask FaceBook

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: evaporation and condensation of water  (Read 28396 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. Click to toggle author information(expand message area).
mtsr

«
Embed this message
on: March 27, 2010, 07:00:05 pm » posted from:Ioánnina,Ioannina,Greece

Dear sir
My name is Maria and I am a physics teacher in Greece. (My English are not very good, so I am sorry for my mistakes).
I am trying to find a qualitative simulation about evaporation and condensation of water from an open and closed container.
I want my students to see what is going on (microscopically) in an open and closed container.

More specifically:

OPEN CONTAINER
Let’s say that there is an open container with water at temperature T. There are some molecules of water that have enough kinetic energy to escape from the liquid and became water vapor (gas). This procedure (the conversion from liquid state to gas state) is called evaporation and goes on at all temperatures. Due to evaporation the level of the liquid in the open container decreases.
The rate of evaporation depends only by the temperature of water.
At high temperature lots of molecules have enough energy to escape from the liquid. At low temperature fewer molecules have sufficient energy to escape from the liquid.